Mizoram Election 2018: Results, Exit Polls, FAQs and All You Need to Know

Mizoram assembly election 2018 was held on November 28 and over 73 per cent of the 7.68 lakh voters exercised their franchise to elect a new assembly. The Mizoram assembly election results will be declared on December 11. The election results of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana and Chhattisgarh polls will also be declared the same day.

India Today TV will broadcast an exit poll result on December 7 after the completion of voting in Rajasthan and Telangana.

ALSO READ | Mizoram records 73% polling in assembly elections

Mizoram is the last Congress-ruled state of the eight northeastern states. While ruling Congress led by the incumbent chief minister and state party chief Lal Thanhawla is aiming for a third consecutive term, it is likely to receive a stiff challenge from the main opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) headed by Zoramthanga during the counting of the votes.

Both the parties have fielded candidates in all the 40 assembly constituencies. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded candidates in 39 seats.

Three weeks before the polling day, senior Congress leader Hiphei resigned as assembly speaker, alleging that the party did not contest him as a candidate in the assembly polls.

The party had fielded Hiphei from Palak constituency but replaced him with party general secretary KT Rokhaw following the reports of him joining the BJP.

The seven-time Congress legislator (between 1972 and 1989 from Tuipang) was elected to the Mizoram assembly from Palak constituency in 2013.

ALSO READ | Mizoram Assembly Speaker Hiphei resigns from Congress, joins BJP

ALSO READ | Party of God in Mizoram assembly election, candidate says fight against corruption, poverty