Lleyton Hewitt returns for another crack at Australian Open

Lleyton Hewitt continues to defy retirement and will play at the 2019 Australian Open.

The Aussie legend will team up with John-Patrick Smith for a crack at the doubles crown at Melbourne Park after being granted a wildcard.

HUGE CLAIMS: Australian Open rocked by bombshell ‘player revolt’

Hewitt and Patrick-Smith will play Marcus Daniells and Wesley Koolhof in the first round, starting Wednesday.

It will be Hewitt’s 22nd appearance at the Australian Open, following last year’s effort alongside Sam Groth.

View photos

Lleyton Hewitt in action. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

The 37-year-old retired from singles action in 2016, but came back in 2018 for Groth’s farewell appearance, making it to the last 16.

He played alongside Alex de Minaur at the recent Brisbane International, and with Jordan Thompson at the Sydney International.

Hewitt’s continued presence on the doubles scene has led to speculation he could play doubles for Australia in their Davis Cup qualifier against Bosnia and Herzegovina next month.

View photos

Lleyton Hewitt and Jordan Thompson at the Sydney International. (Photo by Jason McCawley/Getty Images)

He is currently ranked No.144 in the world in doubles and had a 6-7 win-loss record in 2018.


Men’s singles:

29-Alex de Minaur v Pedro Sousa (POR)

John Millman v Federico Delbonis (ARG)

Matt Ebden v Jan-Lennard Struff (GER)

Jordan Thompson v Feliciano Lopez (ESP)

Bernard Tomic v 6-Marin Cilic (CRO)

Jason Kubler v Thomas Fabbiano (ITA)

James Duckworth v 2-Rafael Nadal (ESP)

Marc Polmans v Denis Kudla (USA)

Women’s singles:

15-Ashleigh Barty v Luksika Kumkhum (THA)

Priscilla Hon v Astra Sharma

Kimberly Birrell v Paula Badosa Gibert (ESP)

Ellen Perez v Yafan Wang (CHN)

Zoe Hives v Bethanie Mattek-Sands (USA)


Men’s singles:

Nick Kyrgios v 16-Milos Raonic (CAN)

Thanasi Kokkinakis v Taro Daniel (JPN)

Alexei Popyrin v Mischa Zverev (GER)

Alex Bolt v Jack Sock (USA)

Women’s singles:

Daria Gavrilova v Tamara Zidansek (SLO)

Ajla Tomljanovic v Johanna Konta (GBR)

Samantha Stosur v Dayana Yastremska (UKR)

Destanee Aiava v 17-Madison Keys (USA)